EIT Governing Board

The former EIT Governing Board
The former EIT Governing Board

The Governing Board is the principal governing body of the EIT, entrusted with the role of strategic leadership and the overall direction of the operational activities implemented by the EIT Headquarters. It is independent and autonomous in its decision-making and is responsible for the selection, evaluation and support of the Knowledge and Innovation Communities (Innovation Communities).

The Governing Board brings together 12 high calibre members balancing prominent expertise from the higher education, research, business and innovation fields.  They shall have a four-year non-renewable term of office.

In accordance with the EIT Regulation, 12 members are appointed to the EIT Governing Board by the European Commission that regards to the balance between higher education, research, innovation and business experience as well as to gender and geographical balance and an appreciation of the higher education, research and innovation environment across the Union upon appointment of the EIT Governing Board members. 

The Governing Board members act in the interests of the EIT, safeguarding its goals and mission, identity, autonomy and coherence, in an independent and transparent way.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee supports the activities of the Governing Board by overseeing the implementation of its strategic decisions. It consists of the EIT Governing Board Chairperson and three appointed Governing Board Members.

European Commission Observer

In accordance with the EIT Regulation, the European Commission has appointed an observer to take part in the meetings of the Governing Board and of the Executive Committee.

The current composition of the EIT Governing Board can be found here.

Responsibilities of the EIT Governing Board as per the EIT Regulation can be consulted here.

EIT Community: