Who else will join the 2020 EIT Awards?

Who else will join the 2020 EIT Awards?

The 2020 EIT Awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, 9 December. Find out who else will join our online event.

The European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) is delighted to introduce you to the leading personalities that will attend the 2020 EIT Awards with you.

During this year's online event on 8 and 9 December, we will celebrate the achievements of outstanding graduates, entrepreneurs and innovators supported by the EIT Community, highlighting their cutting-edge solutions inspiring new generations across Europe. Meet the 28 entrepreneurs in our interactive brochure.

Discover the 2020 EIT Awards Brochure

Who else will join?

Other than celebrating Europe's innovation power, this year's EIT Awards offer you a unique opportunity to virtually meet leading participants and personalities. Besides the nominees and the jury, the 2020 EIT Awards will see the contribution of:

Mariya Gabriel, EU Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Education and Youth

Born in 1979, Mariya Gabriel is a Bulgarian politician and a member of the GERB party serving as European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth since 2019. She was previously a Member of the European Parliament (MEP) from 2009 to 2017. Commissioner Gabriel is the only Bulgarian Member of the European Parliament who twice won the prestigious Parliament Magazine’s annual MEP Award.

Her full biography is available here.

Gioia Ghezzi, Chair of the EIT Governing Board

Born in Italy, Gioia was unanimously elected by the EIT Governing Board in March 2020 and started her mandate in July. She obtained a degree in theoretical physics from the University of Milan and later an MBA at London Business School. She is a Member of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee and also holds a number of non-executive and institutional roles, including Chair of the RGI Group (Corsair Capital), Board Member and Chair of the Nomination Committee of Atlantia, Member of the Scientific Committee of Confindustria (IT).

Her full biography is available here.

Martin Kern, EIT Director

Prior to his appointment as EIT Director, Martin Kern was the Interim Director and Chief Operating Officer at the EIT in Budapest, Hungary since 2014. He led the EIT in its growth from three to eight Knowledge and Innovation Communities (KICs), delivering innovation and entrepreneurship. Martin Kern brings extensive EU experience with 20 years at the European Commission and the EIT.  He began his career after a brief stint at the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe in Geneva, and has Master's degrees in Economics and English from the University of Heidelberg and in European Studies from the University of Reading.

His full biography is available here.

David Pistoni Perez, winner of the 2019 EIT Public Award

David Pistoni Perez is the Co-founder and CEO of Zeleros. Zeleros designs and develops new technologies for a more sustainable and efficient transportation of people and cargo worldwide. The company was supported by EIT Climate-KIC and David was nominated for the EIT Venture Award in 2019. He won the EIT Public Award in 2019, which is the award that determines the public's recognition of overall excellence, and the innovativeness of one of the nominees in the other four Award categories.

Read more here.


We are looking forward to seeing you at this year's EIT Awards, and in the meantime, keep an eye on our website and don't forget to vote for your favourite innovation.

Visit the EIT Awards 2020 website for more

Get in touch

If you are a member of the press and interested in speaking to an EIT representative about the EIT Awards 2020 or would like to join the press activities, please visit the dedicated page or contact us at press@eit.europa.eu.