

# **DECISION 03/2019**

### OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF

## THE EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY (EIT)

### ON THE APPOINTMENT OF A NEW MEMBER OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

### THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 294/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 March 2008 establishing the European Institute of Innovation and Technology<sup>1</sup>, as amended by Regulation (EU) No 1292/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 December 2013<sup>2</sup> (hereinafter "EIT Regulation"), in particular Article 4(1) (a), Section 2 (h) and Section 3 (5) of the Statutes annexed to the EIT Regulation;

Having regard to Decision 8/2016 of the EIT Governing Board of 24 May 2016 on the Rules of Procedure of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee<sup>3</sup>, in particular Article 16 and Article 17 thereof;

Having regard to Decision 13/2018 of the EIT Governing Board of 22 March 2018 on the Appointment of the Members of the Executive Committee<sup>4</sup>;

#### **WHEREAS**

- (1) The Governing Board shall be assisted by the Executive Committee.
- (2) The Executive Committee shall consist of three appointed members and the Chairperson of the Governing Board, who shall also chair the Executive Committee. The three members other than the Chairperson shall be chosen by the Governing Board from among the Governing Board's appointed members.
- (3) The members of the Executive Committee, including the Chairperson, shall have a term of office of two years, renewable once.
- (4) The Executive Committee's term of office shall not exceed his/her term of office as a Governing Board member.
- (5) Its members shall represent a balance of knowledge and experience from across the knowledge triangle, as well as from business and financial world.
- (6) Pursuant to Article 16 of the Rules of Procedure of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee, the term of office of a member of the Executive Committee shall not exceed his/her term of office as a Governing Board member.
- (7) Mr Björn O. Nilsson, Member of the Executive Committee, tendered his resignation as Member of the EIT Governing Board on 21 April 2018 with effect of 1 July 2018.
- (8) Ms Gioia Ghezzi was appointed by the European Commission as member of the EIT Governing Board with a mandate from 1 July 2018 until 30 June 2022 on 14 May 2018<sup>5</sup>.
- (9) Ms Gioia Ghezzi submitted her candidature for the vacant seat of the Executive Committee in line with Article 17 of the Rules of Procedure of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee on 13 March 2019.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L97 of 09.04.2008, p. 1.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> OJ L347 of 20.12.2013, p. 174.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> 00507.EIT.2016.I.GB.WP

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> 11580.EIT.2018.I.GB50

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> C(2018)2760



### Article 1

Ms Gioia Ghezzi, appointed member of the EIT Governing Board has been elected as member of the Executive Committee as from 14 March 2019 until 13 March 2021. Her mandate may be renewed once. However, her term of office as member of the Executive Committee shall not exceed her term of office as a Governing Board member.

#### Article 2

This decision shall enter into force on the date of its signature.

Done in Budapest on 13 March 2019

Dirk Jan van den Berg Chairman of the EIT Governing Board