

Biography: José Manuel Leceta-Garcia



A Telecommunications Engineer, Mr. José Manuel Leceta has also studies in Business Administration and Diplomas in **Economics** Strategic Management of ICT, of Telecommunications, International Studies and Economics and Management of Innovation. As a PhD candidate he is currently working on a thesis concerning European policies for SMEs, including trans-national incubation of technology-based firms. He started his professional career working in space industry in Finland already in 1987, France, Spain and Japan, prior to joining Spain's Innovation Agency (CDTI) in 1992 as part of the Spanish Delegation to the European Space Agency (ESA).

Initially responsible to foster Spain's contribution and leadership in the practical applications of space, he became

Head of Department for Technologies and Space Programmes at CDTI in 1996 and was nominated Chairman of ESA's Ariane Launchers Programmes Board and Vice-Chairman of ESA's Telecommunication Programme Board from 2000 to 2002. Also, he played a pivotal role in pioneer space initiatives, notably ESA's water mission SMOS launched to space in 2009 and AMERHIS (first on-board digital multiplexers orbited by Hispasat) as well as EGNOS-Galileo, until he was promoted to the post of CDTI International Director in 2004.

As Director, his responsibilities included the promotion and management of the Spanish participation in the EU R&D Framework Programmes and other international close-to-market technology cooperation initiatives in Europe (EUREKA) and Latin America (IBEROEKA). In that capacity, he represented Spain in European fora like CREST, Eureka and TAFTIE – the European Association / Network of Innovation Agencies for which he served as Executive Secretary in 2010. Furthermore, during his 6 year term, he widened CDTI's Overseas Network of representatives by opening-up two new Delegations in India and the US, and successfully launched a set of Bilateral Programmes with counterpart Innovation Agencies from Canada, China, India, South Korea, Japan and South Africa.