

DECISION 22/2020

OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF

THE EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY (EIT)

ON THE APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 294/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 March 2008 establishing the European Institute of Innovation and Technology¹, as amended by Regulation (EU) No 1292/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 December 2013² (hereinafter "EIT Regulation"), in particular Article 4(1) (a), Section 2 (h) and (j) and Section 3 (5) of the Statutes annexed to the EIT Regulation;

Having regard to Decision 8/2016 of the EIT Governing Board of 24 May 2016 on the Rules of Procedure of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee³, in particular Article 16 and Article 17 thereof;

Having regard to Decision 13/2018 of the EIT Governing Board of 22 March 2018 on the Appointment of the Members of the Executive Committee⁴;

Having regard to Decision 3/2019 of the EIT Governing Board of 13 March 2019 on the Appointment of a new Member of the Executive Committee⁵;

Having regard to Commission Decision C(2020)4363 of 2 July 2020 appointing four new members of the Governing Board of the European Institute of Innovation and Technology;

WHEREAS

- (1) The Governing Board shall be assisted by the Executive Committee.
- (2) The Executive Committee shall consist of three appointed members and the Chairperson of the Governing Board, who shall also chair the Executive Committee. The three members other than the Chairperson shall be chosen by the Governing Board from among the Governing Board's appointed members.
- (3) The members of the Executive Committee, including the Chairperson, shall have a term of office of two years, renewable once.
- (4) Its members shall represent a balance of knowledge and experience from across the knowledge triangle, as well as from business and financial world.
- (5) Pursuant to Article 16 of the Rules of Procedure of the EIT Governing Board and Executive Committee, the term of office of a member of the Executive Committee shall not exceed his/her term of office as a Governing Board member.
- (6) The terms of office as Governing Board members for Mr Dirk Jan van den Berg, Ms Ana Trbovich and Ms Marja Makarow ended on 30 June 2020.

¹ OJ L97 of 09.04.2008, p. 1.

² OJ L347 of 20.12.2013, p. 174.

³ 00507.EIT.2016.I.GB.WP

⁴ 11580.EIT.2018.I.GB50

⁵ Ares(2019)1756284



- (7) Ms Agnès Paillard submitted her candidature to become a member of the Executive Committee as of 1 July 2020 in the closed session of the EIT Governing Board meeting of 18 March 2020. She was elected by the EIT Governing Board in the meeting unanimously.
- (8) The European Commission appointed four new members of the EIT Governing Board on 2 July 2020 as follows: Ms Martina N. Larkin, Mr Paul Rübig, Mr Nektarios Tavernarakis and Mr Attila Péter Végh.
- (9) Mr Attila Péter Végh and Mr Nektarios Tavernarakis submitted their candidatures to become members of the Executive Committee in the closed session of the EIT Governing Board meeting of 23 September 2020. They were elected by the EIT Governing Board in the meeting unanimously.

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

Ms Agnès Paillard, Mr Attila Péter Végh and Mr Nektarios Tavernarakis, appointed members of the EIT Governing Board have been elected as members of the Executive Committee.

Article 2

- 1. The term of Ms Agnès Paillard shall run from 1 July 2020 until 30 June 2022. The terms of Mr Attila Péter Végh and Mr Nektarios Tavernarakis shall run for two years from the date of entry into force of this decision.
- 2. The terms of the three appointed Executive Committee members may be renewed once. However, their terms of office as members of the Executive Committee shall not exceed their respective terms of office as Governing Board members.

Article 3

This decision shall enter into force on the date of its signature.

Done in Budapest on 30 October 2020⁶

Gioia Ghezzi Chair of the EIT Governing Board

⁶ Adopted by written procedure