

DECISION 12/2016

OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF

THE EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY (EIT)

ON THE APPOINTMENT OF THE STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE SELECTION PROCESS FOR A PROPOSAL FOR APPOINTMENT OF A NEW MEMBER OF THE EIT GOVERNING BOARD

THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF INNOVATION AND TECHNOLOGY,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 294/2008 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 March 2008 establishing the European Institute of Innovation and Technology¹, as amended by Regulation (EU) No 1292/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 December 2013² ('EIT Regulation'), the Annex, Section 1 (2),

Having regard to the Decision of the Governing Board of 10 July 2014 on the terms of office of the appointed Governing Board members³,

Having regard to Decision of the Governing Board No 13/2015⁴ of 3 June 2015 on the EIT Code of Good Conduct on Conflict of interest for members of the EIT Governing Board,

Having regard to the Decision of the Governing Board of the EIT of 24 September 2015 on the Selection Process of the EIT Governing Board Members,

WHEREAS

- (1) Professor Nigel Thrift, resigned from the EIT Governing Board on 15 January 2016.
- (2) The candidate (s) shall be chosen on the basis of the outcome of a transparent and open procedure.
- (3) A Steering Committee should be appointed from among the EIT Governing Board members.
- (4) The Steering Committee shall be responsible for identifying a list of potential candidates as new member of the Governing Board for the EIT Governing Board.
- (5) The Steering Committee shall be composed of three members of the EIT Governing Board and an observer of the European Commission. They shall be appointed by the EIT Governing Board,



¹ OJ L97 of 09.04.2008, p. 1.

² OJ L347 of 20.12.2013, p. 174.

³ 01729.EIT.2014.I.



HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

Appointment of the members of the Steering Committee

The Steering Committee, responsible for identifying a list of potential candidates, is composed of the following EIT members of the EIT Governing Board:

Ulf JOHANSSON Jana KOLAR Marja MAKAROW

Article 2 Appointment of the Chairperson of the Steering Committee

Ulf JOHANSSON, member of the EIT Governing Board, is appointed as Chairperson of the Steering Committee.

Article 3 The role of the Steering Committee and its Chairperson

The role of the Steering Committee and its Chairperson is defined in Annex II of the Decision of the EIT Governing Board on the Selection Process of a new EIT Governing Board Member⁵.

Article 4 Entry into force

This decision shall enter into force on the day of its signature⁶.

Done in Budapest on 10 May 2016

Signed

Peter Olesen

Chairman of the EIT Governing Board

⁵ 00723.EIT.2016.GB.WP

2

⁶ Approved by written procedure by the EIT Governing Board on 10 May 2016