Skip to main content

European Commission appoints 12 new EIT Governing Board members

Twelve new members of the EIT Governing Board were appointed today by the European Commission. The new members will officially take up their positions on July 31.

Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, said:

I would like to thank the outgoing members of the EIT governing board for their hard work and dedication and to welcome the new team. I am delighted with the composition of the new board and I am sure that the new members will make a lasting contribution to attaining the EIT's objectives. Now, more than ever, we need talented people like them to steer the direction of innovation in Europe.

All the EIT board members have a strong reputation in their respective fields and have shown a genuine interest in innovation. The 12 new appointed EIT Governing Board members are: Gabor Bojar,María Garaña, Dr Ulf Johansson, Elpida Keravnou-Papailiou , Dr Jana Kolar, Prof. Marja Makarow, Prof. Peter Olesen , Dr Patrick Prendergast, Bruno Revellin-Falcoz, Gianfelice Rocca, Prof. Nigel Thrift and Jeroen Van Der Veer (full list of current EIT Governing Board and biographies here).  
The EIT Governing Board is responsible for the EIT's overall strategy and for the selection, coordination and evaluation of the 'Knowledge and Innovation Communities' (KICs), the public-private partnership innovation factories at the heart of the EIT. The KICs bring together excellent higher education institutions, research centres and businesses to address major societal challenges such as climate change and sustainable energy in an innovative way.
The EIT Governing Board will oversee the implementation of the EIT's Strategic Innovation Agenda (SIA), proposed by the European Commission. This will provide the impetus for creating up to 600 start-up companies and for training 10 000 Masters' students and 10 000 PhDs in new curricula combining excellent science and a strong entrepreneurship component.

Official European Commission Press Release