Skip to main content

The EIT Regional Innovation Scheme (RIS): Closing the Innovation Divide in Europe

Supporting the innovation communities that need us

We launched the EIT Regional Innovation Scheme in 2014 to help countries boost their ability to innovate based on their scores on the European Innovation Scoreboard

EIT RIS activities are tailor-made to meet the diverse innovation needs of eligible countries. We’ve been setting up on-the-ground Hubs in eligible countries and regions scoring in the "modest" or "emerging" score categories to help spear-head on-the-ground implementation of these activities. EIT RIS Hubs foster closer interactions between local innovation actors and link local innovation ecosystems to the EIT’s pan-European innovation ecosystem. They also help integrate potential new partners and participants from the local innovation ecosystem in EIT Community activities.

Get all the latest info about the RIS:

Check the EIT RIS website

Want to know where to find your closest EIT RIS Hub? 

Check out our interactive map

By the end of 2025, we will have hubs in all EIT RIS-eligible areas. There are two types of hubs: 

  • EIT RIS Hubs, each run by different Knowledge and Innovation Communities, where they conduct their activities and carry out their mission to boost regional innovation
  • EIT RIS Community Hubs which will be nodes for all EIT Communities, a one-stop-shop where you will find information on all opportunities and activities we can provide


Learn more about our hubs

If you’re based in an RIS-eligible country, you can benefit from our programme

Whoever you are, whether a student, a researcher, an entrepreneur, a representative of an SME, a university, research lab, national/regional government, NGOs, or a city, you’ve come to the right place. The EIT RIS will support your innovation capacity and all of your innovation ambitions. 

Check from the list below to see if your country/region is eligible for the RIS between 2021 and 2024:

  • EU Member States: Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia
  • Horizon Europe Associated Countries: Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Türkiye, Ukraine
  • Outermost Regions: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Réunion, Martinique, Mayotte and Saint-Martin (France), the Azores and Madeira (Portugal), and the Canary Islands (Spain)

Check out the EIT Community's RIS activities

EIT Climate-KICEIT DigitalEIT FoodEIT HealthEIT ManufacturingEIT Urban MobilityEIT Jumpstarter

Learn more about what the RIS can do for you with our RIS Activity Reports and Success Stories

Here's how to reach us

Learn more about the rules and frameworks guiding the RIS

 RIS Implementation Framework  

EIT Community RIS Hubs Launch Schedule

RIS Hubs Minimum Standards and Guiding Principles